Combating Gender-based Violence in the South-East Asia Region

Gender-based violence (GBV) has been reported by 9 out of the 11 countries in the South-East Asia Region; Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Indonesia, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Thailand. Four countries have enacted a domestic violence act; Indonesia (2004), India (2005), Thailand (2007) and Nepal (2008). Research and public advocacy on the awareness, prevention, protection and eliminationof gender-based violence has been performed in the nine countries mentioned above.